Heart Attack


Sorry I haven’t written lately.  Dad had a heart attack and ended up in the hospital.  I stayed with him every day in the hospital.  Now he is an inpatient hospice facility, and again I am spending most of every day with him.  He is not expected to live long.  Maybe 3 months, maybe much less.  Already he is not eating any food and taking in very little liquids either.  My heart is breaking over his damaged heart.

I will try to write more when there is time but it may be awhile.  I just want to say that hospice is a much better experience than I had when mom was dying in a hospital 4 years ago.  (See my first post.)

About letstalkaboutfamily

I am a retired and was the primary caregiver for both my parents before they passed. I have children and grandchildren. This blog is an attempt to connect with other caregivers and share ideas and experiences. I hope you will let me know what worked for you if you had an experience similar to mine. The main issues I am going to talk about are elder care, death and dying, assisted living, family relationships and hoarders and hoarding. Other topics will come up as I address the issues and my relationship with other family members.
This entry was posted in Caregiving, death and dying, Elder Care, Eldercare, Health Care, Hospice, hospital and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Heart Attack

  1. SwittersB says:

    Oh so sorry to read this. Hugs and prayers in the days ahead!

  2. Thinking of you and your family. Prayers and positive energy coming your way!

  3. boomer98053 says:

    Lori, I am so sorry with this sudden turn of events. Every hour of every coming day will bring something different with which to contend. I know you are up to the challenge, but I support you regardless. Please know that you are at the forefront of my thoughts. Irene

    • Thank you, Irene. Dad was getting on in years and this year I was more afraid to leave him. I was lucky to have 2 experienced companions watching over him. Both were of great help to me even as I quickly returned home. One companion pointed out to his Assisted Living staff that he was having shoulder pain, though they only treated it with Tylenol. The other, a retired nurse, went with dad to the ER where he had a second heart attack. She brought all the necessary forms so they knew he was DNR, etc. and she was able to give me a good report on what was happening. Even once I was home I kept her on to cover several hours eqch day with dad while I made phone calls and got groceries as there are simply not enough hours in the day! It takes a village to care for an old dad too!

      Lori

  4. Oh, sweetie, I am so sorry to hear this news. Your dear dad will be well cared for. It’s so good for you both that you can be with him at this special time. My dad was in inpatient hospice and I stayed with him. They were wonderful. They treated my dad with such love, respect, and care. Big cyber-hugs to you.

    • Thank you so much. I am a huge fan of hospice now. I wish it weren’t so hard to get into as so many more people would benefit from it if they could get in!

      • Your’re right! My dad went from ICU to SNF and the SNF tried their darndest to keep him there. It takes awareness to know you an tell them no and ask the doctor to certify for hospice. But you have to ask. Thank goodness you are there to advocate for your dad.

      • Yes. Most SNF are for profit companies who want more businessans procedures add income. My experience is that most Hospice are not fr profit and more oriented towards patient comfort and supporting the families as well. I did nt have a good experience with SNF in the past, even though they were nonprofit, they still focused on what waw best for their facility and not what was best for dad. I am much mre pleased with hospice and it will make the death easier fr dad and for our family too.

  5. jmgoyder says:

    Oh I am in tears for you.

  6. Joy Johnston says:

    I’m sorry to hear this news. As others have said, hospice is difficult to get into, which is a shame. There was a waiting list when my dad was near the end of his life, so he never made it there.

    I was re-reading your Christmas post about visiting your Dad, and how you weren’t sure if it was the right move since it seemed to upset him. It seems in hindsight that spending extra time with your father recently was exactly what you were intended to do, so I hope you can take some comfort in that.

    Keeping you and your family in my thoughts.

    • Thanks, Joy. I think I didn’t question the actual visit so much as the reminders of memories of my mom. Yes, I am glad to have spent so much time with dad these last 4 plus years since mom died. He continues to linger, but is not eating or drinking, so will be gone soon. Still, I am glad to be spending time with him, even now. Even though h can’t talk he still can hear and shake his head, mostly no for things he doesn’t want. 😃

  7. JodiMelsness says:

    I’m so sorry, Mom has been hospice too and it’s gone fairly well. I’m also a hospice RN, so if you need anything or questions, let me know! Bless you and your family!
    Jodi. email is jlsm697@netscape.net

    • Thank you, Jodi. Hospice has been a true blessing for our family. They are all so kind and caring. I don’t feel like I have to be there every minute the way I did when dad was in the hospital or a nursing home. You hospice nurses are wonderful to families like ours.

  8. Pingback: Dad’s Heart Attack | Let's Talk About Family

Leave a Reply

