Back to my Blog — At least For Today!


I spend a fair amount of time thinking about this blog, but never seem to get the time to sit down and write. So much has been happening, and only a few of these things were anticipated.

I did finally manage to give away almost all of the donations I had stacked in my living room, dining room and garage from cleaning out dad’s assisted living apartment. Other items had been in my closets and garage as dad’s room was too small for all season clothing.

I had several large bags of adult diapers which I learned Catholic Charities could really use for some of the clients that they serve. Then I donated dad’s walker to them also. They have been so helpful. My transportation driver comes from Catholic Charities so that was how I made that connection.

Additionally, I donated all of dad’s clothing from summer shirts to winter jackets and much more to various charities. I took bags and bags to Goodwill. Others called about having a “truck on my block” in the next week and I said yes to 3 of them. Now my garage is nearly cleaned up and I have just one open box to donate next week.

While cleaning out dad’s things, I have begun to make bags of my own clothing and other items. It is easy to build up too much stuff, especially when living in a very small apartment. I have only just begun with my own stuff though. I ran out of time and energy before I ran out of things to do.

I am trying diligently to move dad’s estate settlement forward. After an almost 3 month wait I finally got the letters of testamentary which were needed to move probate forward. I met with the lawyer and his assistants several times so far. We have some complications that are also holding things up. Other things are moving as planned, just more slowly than I had hoped.

In order to take my mind off all the “work” of probate, I signed up for some community classes. I enjoy these immensely and don’t like to miss a class. Thus I schedule doctors, hair dresser and other appointments for the non-class days.

Soon I will be doing some traveling. I refrained from much travel all the years I was caring for mom and dad (over 5 years) because I didn’t want to be too far away in case of emergency. Basically I stayed in the same time zone and not too far from an airport. Now I will be traveling further as I go to the other coast to visit my daughter and her family. It will be a short reprieve from the long list of tasks I am working through.

I feel like my life has been on hold ever since my retirement over 6 years ago because I was so focused on caring for mom and dad. Now that they are gone, I want to move on to the things I had always planned to do “when I retire”. Slowly I am beginning some of those, but most remain as ideas for the future.

About letstalkaboutfamily

I am a retired and was the primary caregiver for both my parents before they passed. I have children and grandchildren. This blog is an attempt to connect with other caregivers and share ideas and experiences. I hope you will let me know what worked for you if you had an experience similar to mine. The main issues I am going to talk about are elder care, death and dying, assisted living, family relationships and hoarders and hoarding. Other topics will come up as I address the issues and my relationship with other family members.
This entry was posted in After Death, Caregiving, Probate and Estate Settlement and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Back to my Blog — At least For Today!

  1. Joy Johnston says:

    Glad you are finally getting some “me time” as I can relate with putting life on hold while caring for parents. Even when they are being well-cared for in a facility, you still are always on high alert for a phone call about their condition. Enjoy your travels!

    • Thanks, Joy. So many of us sleep with ne ear tuned to the phone for years. I miss my dad, but I don’t jump quite so much now when the phone rings. I do look forward to traveling and seeing my grandchildren. It is still a few weeks away but doesn’t seem quite real yet.

  2. boomer98053 says:

    It truly appears that you’ve got things under control or at the very least are staying on top of things. It is a difficult task to perform when so many emotions are tied up in the “things” that are being cleared out, but you’re doing a wonderful job of it. I hope your travels take you to an as far away place as you desire.

  3. So glad to hear amidst the estate issues and cleaning out you are finding time for things you enjoy–classes and a visit to the grandchildren. And in the meantime, you get to come up with more ideas for how you would like to spend your retirement.

Leave a Reply

